Back to Top

 

Meet Jodi

I have been many things in my life, but as I have learned and grown throughout my life, one thing has been clear.  I am an advocate.  I have strong beliefs and I fight for them, whether it be for myself or for others.  I can be an advocate for the 107th District of Michigan in our State House.  I am originally from the Escanaba area.  Born and raised Yooper!  I've lived here my entire life.  My dad has a car dealership in Escanaba that he started when he was 19 years old and my mom was a stay at home mom when I was young.  She raised five children of which I am the eldest.  I have three sisters and a brother.  I also have four nephews and two nieces.  When I was thirteen my Great Grandmother passed away, but before that I had spent a great deal of my time at her house.  She is my greatest influence I believe.  She told me about crossing to America on a ship, she described how it was during the Great Depression and she raised four different families to help other relatives during hard times, which is another reason why I feel strongly about family staying together.  Her name was Mary Ellen Murphy.  My Grandfather was a woodsman and my Great Grandmother cooked for the lumbercamps.  She taught me how to cook with no recipes.  She was a tough woman.  My Grandfather was a World War II veteran as well.  He always had a huge garden and I can remember playing in the fields, planting and picking the vegetables.  Picking rocks out of the garden so I could get to drive the big John Deere tractor.  I loved it on her farm!  I've raised my children here in Sault Ste Marie.  I've gone to school here and worked here.  I moved to Sault Ste Marie in 1994 and worked for the Sault Tribe of Chippewa Indians from 1994-2008 at which time I went back to school and earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in Criminal Justice-Corrections with a Minor in Business Administration from Lake Superior State University in 2011.  I became a Foster Parent in Chippewa County in 2011 and took in kids until I let my license expire in 2018.  During this time, I also was a Notary Public from 2012-2019.  I worked at Walmart as a cashier while going to school and I also worked for a Juvenile Justice Diversion and Reintegration Alternatives (JJDRA) Program for Teaching Family Homes from 2014-2020.  While working there, I briefly worked for Trinity inside Chippewa East Correctional Facility in 2015 supervising inmates preparing meals for the population.  From 2017-2020 I managed Zim's, a bar/restaurant in Sault Ste Marie.  Finally, from 2018 to present, I have worked for U.P. Kids doing prevention and reunification for children in danger of being removed from their parent(s) and those being returned to their parent(s) from Foster Care.  I have experience advocating for others and I'd like to put that experience to use advocating for our area in the Great State of Michigan's 107th District!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Committee to Elect Jodi Decker
Powered by CampaignPartner.com - Political Websites
Close Menu